Advisory Board

RRRT's external advisory board currently consists of the following members:


Rosslyn Noonan

Rosslyn Noonan is the former Chief Commissioner of the New Zealand Human Rights Commission and current Director at the Faculty of Law of Auckland University’s Centre for Human Rights Law, Policy & Practice. From 2010 to 2012 she was Chair for the International Coordinating Committee of National Institutions for the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights (ICC) – In this role she supported the establishment and strengthening of independent national human rights institutions to ensure they met international standards.


Romulo Nayacalevu

Romulo Nayacalevu is a human rights lawyer who has served the Pacific region for over 10 years. He previously worked as a private practitioner in Fiji, before taking his appointment as the first national human rights officer for the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, Regional Office for the Pacific. He then joined SPC RRRT as a senior trainer before becoming a senior human rights adviser. In 2017 he took his appointment as the program manager for Governance and Legal Affairs at the Melanesian Spearhead Group Secretariat in Vanuatu. Romulo also serves in the boards of Save the Children, Scripture Union Fiji, PSFC and previously with the Fiji Young Lawyers Association and the Fiji Enviroment Law Association. He holds degrees in law, governance, international affairs (relations) and diplomacy.

Andie Fong Toy 

Andie Fong Toy of New Zealand is the current Deputy Secretary General of the Forum Secretariat's Economic Governance and Security programme. Ms Fong Toy took up this position on 23 May 2011. Ms Fong Toy’s extensive experience incorporates research on Pacific legal issues and working in a civil society organisation in New Zealand and experience in election observation missions, encapsulating vast knowledge and understanding of regional and international issues.


Ethel Sigimanu 

Ethel Sigimanu spent over 27 years’ in the Solomon Islands public service serving in a number of ministries and providing the leadership needed for effective service delivery to the people of Solomon Islands. She is currently the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Women, Youth, Children & Family Affairs. In the past 9 years, She also served as Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Fisheries & Marine Resources, Department of National Unity, Reconciliation & Peace, Department of Home Affairs & Chairlady of the National Disaster Council and Ministry of Women, Youth & Sports.



More in this category: « History Interns »

SPC’s Regional Rights Resource Team receives core funding from the Australian Government and additional project support from the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Pacific Leadership Programme (PLP), European Union (EU) and the German Development Bank (KfW).