Human Rights Status


Date of signature/ratification 
Ratified 17 March 2004
Reporting status as of October 2011
Initial and 2nd reports overdue since 2005 and
2009 respectively

Date of signature/ratification 
Ratified 11 December 1995
Articles 24 (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), 26, and 28 (b),
(c), (d)
Latest report submitted
15 August 2005
Reporting status as of october 2011
Consolidated 2nd, 3rd and 4th overdue


RRRT in Kiribati

Current support to Kiribati are in the following areas;

  • Support to the VAW Task Force through training and technical assistance
  • Handbook for Kiribati on drafting options on comprehensive and integrated VAW legislation
  • National consultations on the draft domestic violence bill (Family Peace Bill)
  • Placement of a Country Focal Officer to support activities on Gender Equality, Human rights and Strategic legislative lobbying campaigns.
  • Support to the development of legislative implementation plan for the Family Peace Bill
  • Support policy development to comprehensively address Violence Against Women on national activities
  • Support to civil society, civil servants in legislative lobbying
  • Provision of national level training on human rights ratification and reporting to NGOs and Government as well as on UPR reporting
  • Inclusion of participants into regional training for lawyers, MPs and judicial officials

Past support included;

  • Support resulting in the ratification of the Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) and the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC) by Kiribati
  • Support to the compilation of the CRC state report
  • Training of Community Paralegals, Magistrates and Government Officials in gender and human rights
  • Support to the HIV, Ethics and Human Rights review in Kiribati, 2009

For further information about RRRT's achievements in the region, visit Our Achievements page.

SPC’s Regional Rights Resource Team receives core funding from the Australian Government and additional project support from the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Pacific Leadership Programme (PLP), European Union (EU) and the German Development Bank (KfW).