The Pacific Community


The geographic region of the Pacific includes roughly 10,000 islands in the Pacific Ocean. The Pacific island countries make up the Pacific Community of 26 members.

They include the 22 Pacific Island countries and territories served by the Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC):

American Samoa, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Wallis and Futuna plus Australia, France, New Zealand and the United States of America (four of the founding countries).

RRRT is currently implementing activities in seven of the Pacific island countries: Kiribati, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Nauru, Federated States of Micronesia and Vanuatu.



SPC’s Regional Rights Resource Team receives core funding from the Australian Government and additional project support from the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Pacific Leadership Programme (PLP), European Union (EU) and the German Development Bank (KfW).