Pacific Island Table of Treaty Ratification

The primary documents that inform international human rights are the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and “The Big Nine”, namely:

  • International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (ICESCR)
  • International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR)
  • Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (CERD)
  • Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)
  • Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, In human or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (CAT)
  • Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC)
  • Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families (CRMW)
  • Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD)
  • Convention for the Protection of all Persons from Enforced Disappearance (CPPED)

Details of the Pacific Island Countries which are a party or signatory to United Nations human rights treaties is provided in the downloadable PDF below. 

RRRT's "The Big Eight", published in 2010 and available under Publications, contains eight of these key human rights documents.

"The Big Nine" publication is scheduled for release in 2014 and includes the International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearances.

SPC’s Regional Rights Resource Team receives core funding from the Australian Government and additional project support from the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Pacific Leadership Programme (PLP), European Union (EU) and the German Development Bank (KfW).